Salam perantauan

Hi!!  I feel like updating and give this story away because I’ve been receiving messages from my friends and many asked how I celebrated my raya and my Ramadan.

Ramadan was real good. No joke. My housemates and I took turns to cook and lead the prayers. We usually cook our own meals which means having to cook for extra 5 people was a little bit challenging for me. I suck at estimating the portions. Anyways, when it was my turn, cooking wasn’t the hardest. The hardest part was thinking of the meal that I needed to cook and hoping that everyone like the cooking. Thankfully, no one get sick or food poisoning. Phew.

Oh cooking is one thing but leading the prayers is another thing. Did I tell you that I got so nervous when I first needed to lead the prayers? Holy cow! I was even more nervous leading my housemates compared to my family! I actually had to do some revisions with my readings and all. I lost my voice halfway through and yeah it was terrible. By the second and the third time, I got better hahaha so it was actually a good experience.

Oh and during Ramadan, I also had my finals so there was actually one time where I break my fast while I was taking my exam and only God knows how hungry I was at that time. So yeah, that’s more or less of how I celebrated Ramadan this year.

But how was my Raya celebration went?

Well first of all, Eid Mubarak to all my fellow Muslim friends! This year is my first time that I am celebrating Eid away from my family. A celebration that was full of sweet bitter memories. A night before the official celebration, it actually felt like home. We decided to cook rendang, sambal tumis (my housemates call it sambal bilis), kuah lodeh, sambal kacang and ketupat instant (they were delicious!). We also baked kuih raya and that night we had preparation for raya where everyone cleaned the house, put kuihs in the container while listening to raya songs. Not to mention that everyone in the house was video calling their family including me. I started getting emotional when I called my sisters and my mom. I thought I wasn’t gonna cry. I thought I was ‘kental’ enough but dammit jokes on me. So yeah that night it felt like raya, it felt like home.

The next morning, there was a big celebration at Malaysian Hall. I got up pretty early because I decided to actually dress nicely hehehe. Went there for solat raya, then ate (I set my expectation too high so I ended up getting disappointed sebab tak sedap. I thought makanan penjara huhu), then the usual- pictures. After I don’t know how many pictures were taken, we all decided to go home and sleep. Then at night, some friends decided to come so I actually didn’t ended up eating my own kuih. Thank you for coming over :’). You guys made my first day of raya felt like raya.

Well, first day I slay with my high heels and all, second day I slaykeh. It was just like another day and on the third day, my friend, Zoe invited me over. At first we went to Alexendria the ground then we hit to the beach. I kid you not, that day I witnessed the most beautiful sunset I’ve ever seen! The sound of the waves made the scenery extra beautiful. It was just amazing and I had a great time. When I went to her place, her parents were so nice to me as well and she got cute dog, Holly.

For an Australian setting, my raya probably sounds good and fun.

Capture
My new (not so new) friends in Sydney :’) _ Missing emy_
j
My future bridesmaids (oso missing emy) cuz she was having a great time rayaing in Malaysia
I think this was supposed to be candid.
Jump shots are the hardest but we tried anyway
Day well spent~ I don’t think I can survive uni without her. No joke.
Her parents and her dog were the sweetest
The view @ La Perouse is 10/10
Leave a Reply

